Wimbledon wildcard joy for Johanna

Johanna Konta
Johanna Konta

Eastbourne tennis player Johanna Konta received a huge boost ahead of her home town tournament as she recived a wildcard to the 2015 Wimbledon Championships.

Britain’s Laura Robson has not been included in the first set of wildcards for Wimbledon, but is expected to receive a wildcard to Eastbourne.

Last year Konta was awarded another wildcard to compete at the 2014 Aegon International in Eastbourne, where she defeated 2013 Wimbledon junior champion and qualifier Belinda Bencic in straight sets.

This set up a meeting with world 42 Camila Giorgi, who had stunned fourth seed Victoria Azarenka in the first round.

Despite holding a match point at 5–4 up in the final set, she lost to the Italian.

Konta gained direct entry into the 2014 Wimbledon main draw, losing a tight three-set match to Peng Shuai in round one

Robson, 21, has not played for 17 months because of injury, but could return at Eastbourne this weekend.

Wimbledon organisers can still name a further four ladies’ wildcards before the tournament starts on June 29.

There are wildcards for Britons Liam Broady, Kyle Edmund, James Ward, Naomi Broady and Johanna Konta. Robson has not played since last year’s Australia Open because of a persistent wrist injury, which required surgery 14 months ago.

She decided not to take up a wildcard at the Aegon Classic in Birmingham this week, but can begin her grass-court campaign at this weekend’s Aegon International.

Australian Hewitt, 34, the 2002 Wimbledon champion, will be making his 17th and final main draw appearance at the All England Club, ahead of his intended retirement next year.

France’s Nicolas Mahut, whose first-round loss to John Isner at Wimbledon in 2010 was the longest ever professional tennis match, has also been handed a wildcard.

Bristol-born teenager Katie Swan, who made her WTA Tour debut this week at the age of 16, has been given a place in qualifying, alongside fellow Britons Amanda Carreras, Harriet Dart, Katy Dunne and Gabriella Taylor.

Three British men, Edward Corrie, Daniel Cox and Joshua Milton, have also been given wildcards for qualifying.