Willingdon elect new captains

No Caption ABCDE
No Caption ABCDE

At the Annual General Meeting of Willingdon Golf Club last Friday, Mr. Derek Head was elected Club Captain and Mr. Alan Nottage, Club Vice Captain.

The new Chairman of Handicaps and Competitions will be Des Brockwell and the Chairman of House will be John Payne. Mr. Dick Holste was re-elected Treasurer and Mr. Martin Coles was elected to the Board of Directors.

On a very cold but bright Sunday in the Captains Sovereign match, the Captain Derek Head and James Redmond won the Captain’s Sovereign by beating John Payne and Richard Hines by 3 up with 2 to play.

However, the Immediate Captain’s team captained by John Payne beat the Captain’s team by 8 points to 7 in the match.

The winning team members comprised the following:- Mick Everingham, Mark Downey, Robin Abbott, Colin Bromwich, Norman Beaney, Mark Sellings, Craig Manser, Tom Chapman, Kevin Cowley, Neil Pysden, Sue Sexton, Rowena Bromwich, Judy Byrne, Jean Uden, Andy Harris, Darren Jarvis, Laurie Stedman, Graham Viles, Tony Uden, Rasoul Shahilow, Steve Caroll, Mark Hurst, Val Seal, Kim Hepburn, Marie Hunt, Carol Woods, Sylvia Huggair and Sheila Payne.

After the match the Captain, Derek Head, new Ladies Captain, Jane Price and new Junior Captain Calvin Jarvis all drove in watched by Willingdon members.