‘We will take some beating this year’ - Geer

Eastbourne manager and co-promoter Trevor Geer believes his Eagles team will ‘take some beating’ in the Elite League this season.

The line-up for 2011 was finally confirmed earlier this week. Dawid Lampart and Lukas Dryml will return to Arlington after riding for the Eagles last season.

The management had hoped to finalise their team before Christmas, but the deal for Dryml took longer than anticipated to complete.

The Czech reserve is still owned by Peterborough Panthers, whose participation in the 2011 competition has been in doubt throughout the winter.

Lampart and Dryml, who both missed the 2010 Knockout Cup final through injury, will occupy the reserve berths.

They join Bjarne Pedersen (pictured), Lewis Bridger, Joonas Kylmakorpi, Cameron Woodward and Simon Gustafsson in the line-up. A number eight is expected to be named this week.

Geer said, “We’re really pleased with the seven we’ve got, I think we’ll take some beating this year. We’ve got seven riders who want to ride for Eastbourne, we’ve been inundated with requests from riders, but we’ve got seven who get on well together.

“We always wanted to bring Lukas back, he’s a really firm favourite with the fans. He’s one of those riders who can beat anyone on his day.

“Dawid Lampart is in for a good year. Last year he was just unfortunate that we were allowed to bring in Tomasz Jedrzejak when Dawid got injured.

“Most of (the riders) will be back at the end of the month. They are all looking forward to it.

“The beauty of it is that we’ve got seven riders here that get on so well. We are quite fortunate that they all get on really well together.”

The Eagles will begin the 2011 campaign with a challenge match against Poole Pirates at Arlington on Sunday March 20 (5pm). The Pirates beat the Eagles in last season’s Knockout Cup final. Eastbourne will visit Dorset for the return on Wednesday March 23.

The club will hold a fans forum at Arlington on Sunday 27 February at 12noon. Season ticket prices have also been announced, www.eastbourneeagles.co for more information.

Eagles line-up: 1. Bjarne Pedersen, 2. Lewis Bridger, 3. Joonas Kylmakorpi, 4. Simon Gustafsson, 5. Cameron Woodward (captain), 6. Lukas Dryml, 7. Dawid Lampart.