Skipper Cowell bows out at club’s successful end-of-year presentations

Out-going Club Captain, Jerry Cowell, performed his last duty when he presented the Royal Eastbourne Golf Club’s end-of-year awards.

The club enjoyed a successful year, including winning the PAVit plate and the Sussex inter-club KO championship.

Individual winners included Jane Roberts with the Bovil Salver, Barbara Glover with the Culmore Cup, Teresa Ward with the Silverdale Salver and Rebecca Hine with the Elspeth Brady Salver, despite her still being just a junior.

In the Men’s section, Phil Belfield took the Club Championship and Frank Silcock title. Other awards were: Mid-Age Scratch; Steve Clarke. Club Gold Medal; Nick Ward. Hartington Gold Medal; Mark Taylor. Lethbridge Gold Medal; Steve Clarke. Duke of Devonshire Trophy; Andrew Lawrence. Order of Merit; Steve Clarke. Eric Hambro Challenge Cup; Tom Breach. Horniblow Cup; John Chamberlen.

In the Ladies knock-out events, Hope Beland won the Club Championship, Alice Millest the Eric Dawson Cup, Dorothy McDonald the Bovill Salver and Jane Roberts the St Cyprians Cup.

Junior Alex Piper took the Balfour Bowl, Pritchard Cup and the Vaughan Cup, as well as the Feeney Tigers with Matt Wilson.

Sam Russell won the Eastbourne Amateur Championship and the club pro, Alan Harrison, the Sussex Open Championship.

Nick Ward was crownedJunior Club Champion.