Sharon’s tops in 75th Anniversary Cup

Sharon Taylor won the Royal Eastbourne Ladies’ 75th Anniversary Cup Stableford competition this year.

Sharon was first in Silver Division with an excellent 41 points, second was Lin Cremore with 36 points.

Bridget Ross took first place in Bronze 1 also with 36 points, Lizzie Carol was second on 33.

Di Paterson and Liz Geer were placed first and second in Bronze two.

Men’s results; October medal; Div 1. Neil Sulke’s net 65 was the best by 3 strokes, Tom Hobson taking second place with 68.Tom Breach equalled this, count back favouring the former.

Royal Eastbourne finished runners-up in the Southern Area final held at Spring Golf Course, Hampshire.

Nick Ward carded a 69 and was the best roundof the day by five shots.

The team was Nick Ward, Alex Piper, Alfie Britland, Ben Clarke, Jack Giddins and Harri Belfield. They could qualify for the Nationals as best runners-up.

Twelve-handicapper Wayne Funnell returned a net 63 and won the Eastbourne Park Golf Main October Medal on count back from James Bussell.

Ian Elphick, also playing off 12, was third with a net 64.

Ian Stringer won nearest the pin on the second hole. K Metcalf claimed the honours on the sixth and Richie Stoddern the ninth.