Railway secure promotion with weeks to spare

Division three leaders Railway Club have gained promotion to division two of the Eastbourne Snooker League with six weeks of the season remaining.

Hailsham MI B, lying in second position in division three, fell to a 3-2 away loss to Eastbourne Con Club. Gorden Hearn won 44-41 against Steve Stenhouse, Kevin Feakins outpointed Neal Kent 57-19 and Ron Dixon won on the black 51-44 against Hugh Galt in the last frame to secure the victory.

Clive Kidman, the HMI B skipper, won his frame 53-16 against Bud House and Barry Kent overcame Norman Griffin 63-27 for the two HMI B points.

The top of the table clash between Dolphin F and Glastonbury E resulted in a 3-2 win for the second-placed Dolphin F side.

Marika Buckland got Dolphin F off to a winning start by recording a 25 break during her 58-13 victory over Colin Hadland. Ben Murray, for the Dolphin F, pocketed a 28 break on his way to a 78-12 win against Robin Mills. Steve Pollard took the winning frame for Dolphin F by outpointing Damien Mills 40-28. Glastonbury E had claimed the opening frame when Jody Mills defeated the Dolphin F skipper Stuart Alexander 56-43 and Jose Martins took the final frame 59-8 against Neil Rogers.

Transport, seeking an automatic promotion place, overcame Fire Brigade 3-2 at the Royal Naval Club.

Rob Bennett, Ray Swatridge and Trevor Simmons recorded the winning frames for the busboys. Keith Hobden and Pete Marsden replied for the Brigade.

X.R.E.A. took all five frames off the bottom team Hailsham MI F. Colin and Martin Fry, along with Steve Glen, Stuart Smith and the skipper Liam Brooks, recorded the wins.

Fishermen’s Club C fell to a 3-2 home loss at the hands of Police. Charlie Anastasi, Vic Harding and Colin Napier recorded the Police team’s winning frames. Dave Bulwer and Pete Staplehurst replied for Fish C.

Hailsham Club C lost 3-2 at home to Angling Club B, whose wins came from Graham Elphick, Nigel Pipe and a 39-32 last frame black ball win for Vic Padget over Aled Evans. Brian Powell, the Hailsham Club C skipper, and Brian Sparks recorded the two winning frames for the home team.

Skipper leads the way

Nuthouse A retained their position as the leaders of division two in the Eastbourne Snooker League with a 3-2 home win over Topaz A.

The Nuthouse captain, Martin Halpin, got his team off to a good start by outpointing in emphatic style Harry Gent 72-10.

Matt Walter defeated Topaz skipper Dave Williams 68-45 and Glen Williams kept up his good form with a 69-28 victory over Monsen Kananalek.

Kia Movaf overcame Costa Kyprian on the black 54-47 and Daron Gurr recorded a 37 break during his 67-39 defeat of Marcel Compton to give Topaz two valuable points in their promotion aspirations.

Glastonbury Club A recorded a 3-2 home win against Fishermen’s Club B after Richard Barnicoat, Tokki Yamaguchi and Paul Croft won the first three frames.

Alan Sear and Rob Connell took the fourth and fifth frames for Fishermen’s B against Grant Martins and Matt Smith.

Meads B got back to winning ways with a 3-2 home victory against Eastbourne Working Men’s Club B. Sami Kassam, Darren Cornford and Steve Magee recorded the Meads B wins, while Tom Wigglesworth and Dave Noakes replied.

The Fishermen’s Club derby match between the F and E teams resulted in a 5-0 win for the E side.

Dave Proud outpointed Brian Dyson 77-51, John Satherwaite defeated Mick Wheeler 75-37, Colin Bray overcame Mal Dixon 48-35, Jimmi Simpson gave Dave Smith no chance with a 62-2 result and Paul Worssam beat Steve Heather 47-46 on the black in a much closer game.

Seaford Legion entertained Devonshire A with the visitors taking four frames off the home team via the cues of Ron Jackson, Bryan Opie, Tim Stirmey and Chris Gape. Devonshire captain Dave Manville lost 33-19 to Alan Wells in frame three.

The derby match between Hailsham Club D and A went the way of the D team 3-2. Brian Rogers, Ian Clarke and Ray Woolston pocketed the winning frames for the D team, while Alan Brett and Micky Dulake replied for the A team.

Hailsham MI E fell to a 4-1 home defeat by Hellingly. Gary Parkinson, Steve Medhurst, Andy Lawrence and Nigel Greenham had the winning frames for the Hellingly team. Brendan Connolly prevented the whitewash with a 49-25 scoreline against Russell Parkinson.