Pool champs Jesters complete the treble treble

Division one winners
Division one winners

The annual Eastbourne and District Pool League finals and presentation day was held at Jesters Bar recently.

The Jesters Intimid8tors are and have been the team to beat during recent years, they have won the coveted Division one Champions Shield and the 99 Cup Trophy every year since Jesters opened in 2011. and This year they completed the treble and made history in the EDPL by also winning the Spring Cup.

The team consists of Carl Fitzsimon (Captain) Gary Reid (Vice Captain), Ian Whitehorn, Mike Upton, Scott Fever, Ben Gibbs and Jimmy Haynes, who between them have an impressive tally of 11 singles and doubles titles under their belts not to mention the numerous team and cup wins over the years.

Last year’s Division three winners Jesters Hastings have gone one better this year and won Division three, also being the runners up in the 99 Cup.

Their vice captain John Robinson was runner up in the Division two Singles and Division two Doubles winner with Ash Morris.

The Arlington Arms has had an array of quality players coming through the ranks in the last few years including, Nem Al Jeryan and Joshua Connolly from their Arlington 1066 side earning places on the England team, they also beat Jesters All Stars to win the League Cup this season.

The latest big hitters are Division three winners The Arlington Anarkists, who walked away with the Division three Winners Shield and the K/O Cup after losing in the final last season.

The biggest prize of all went to Ian Whitehorn for winning the EDPL Open Singles trophy for a second time along with £200 prize money.

He beat Graham Brooker, who picked up £100 and a trophy, by an impressive 5-0 in the final. Ian also came runner up in the EDPL Open Doubles with team mate Scott Fever winning £100 and a trophy each, they were beaten by 2012 winners Nem Al Jeryan and Joshua Connolly by an impressive 5-2

The Division two Singles was won by Chris Reece who capped his season by beating John Robinson 5-2 in a quality final.

Chris’s team The Windsor Club came runners up in Division two to earn a place Division one next season.

Team mate Dave Harding along with Danielle Funnell were runners up in the Division two Doubles losing 5-3 after a very exciting match.

Division three Singles winner Sam Seal from the Woolpack beat Ryan Brown of the Crown Crusaders 5-1 whilst Wayne Burke and Steve Alberry of Jesters Dogs beat Clive Humphreys and Simon Norris of the Arlington 5-3 after being 3-2 down.

Division four was won by the Junction in Polgate, narrowly beating The Garden Bar B by one point.

Singles winner Bill Keohane from the Kings Arms had a tough battle against the Railway Club’s Dave Gilbert who turned up on crutches after a nasty fall but managed to take the match to a deciding frame whilst the Division four dominance by the Kings Arms continued with Bill Keohane and Carly Atteridge winning the Doubles against team mates Trish Lawrence and Jay Morton.

The Plate winners this year are Buskers who beat the Kings Arms in the KO Cup, The Hurst Arms beat the Nuthouse Spares in the League Cup, The Crown beat The Windsor Club in the Spring Cup and The Nuthouse B were victors over the Windsor Club who couldn’t seem to get out of the runners up spot this season, but a great effort by the whole team to get to so many finals.