Plane sailing

Sovereign Sailing
Sovereign Sailing
Share this article

More than 60 boats from around the UK saw Eastbourne at its very best last weekend as they were in town competing in the annual RS Open Event, hosted by Eastbourne Sovereign Sailing Club.

The two days presented contrasting conditions for the competitors, with Saturday’s shifty force three north-westerly being followed by a stunning force five south-westerly on Sunday.

The RS800 class was dominated by Stevie Wilson and Alain Sign, who won four out of the six races and won overall by some margin. Nicholas Charles and Chris Martin (Burghfield) finished second overall and Ben Schooling and George Kingsnorth (Helensburgh) third.

The highest placed Eastbourne boats were Andy Jeffries and Allyson Ody in fifth place and Mick Whitmore and Sarah Smith in sixth place.

Other Eastbourne Sovereign crews in the fleet included Roger Plail and Toby Millot and Mike Green and Sophie McAleenan.

The 34-strong RS 200 fleet was won narrowly by Ben Saxton and Sophie Ainsworth (Grafham Water). They clinched victory by winning the last race of the weekend and finished one point in front of Ian Sharps and Ellie Martin (Burghfield). Matt Mee and Emma Norris (Hollingworth Lake) were third.

Tony Dencher (Netley) won the RS700 event. He had a very consistent weekend, only finishing out of the top two once and his win was well deserved.

At the prize giving, Stevie Wilson thanked the club for putting on a well-run and exciting weekend’s racing. Club Commodore Terri Agnew also thanked the race officer Gary Smith and the large number of members involved in roles on and off the water, making for an enjoyable weekend.

Overall results: RS800: 1st S. Wilson & A. Sign (RS Sailing); 2nd N. Charles & C. Martin (Burghfield); 3rd B. Schooling and G. Kingsnorth (Helensburgh)

RS200: 1st B. Saxton and S. Ainsworth (Grafham); 2nd I. Sharps & E. Martin (Burghfield); 3rd M. Mee & E. Norris (Hollingworth Lake)

RS700: 1st T. Dencher (Netley); 2nd J. Ferguson (Oxford); 3rd C. Dacey.