Maiden victory for the Royal’s Marilyn

Royal Eastbourne’s Marilyn Hewitt scored an impressive 40 points to take the Ladies’ 75th Anniversary Cup.

This was Marilyn’s first big win since leaving the Academy and becoming a full member.

First in Silver Division was Debbie Rose with 38 points, second Lin Cremore with 37 and third Sally Thorpe-Beeston 36 points. The top scorer in Bronze one was Jan Smith with 38 points, second on countback Di Paterson, third Yvonne Macdonald, both scoring 36 points.

Polly Stone-Lee was second with 33 points in Bronze two, Marilyn having taken first place. The cup was presented to the Club by twice Past Captain Sally Thorpe-Beeston to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of the REGC Ladies Section in 2008.

Men’s Results Monday Stableford: division one: 1st Doug Brown, 43 points. 2nd. Alan Hughes, 42. 3rd. (on count-back) Josh Hayes, 42

Division 2. 1st: Peter Windsor, 43. 2nd. Dave Inglis,42. 3rd. Frank Pymble, 40.

Saturday Stableford:

Division one: 1st Alex Piper, 41 points. 2nd Andrew Lawrence, 38. 3rd.Steve Williams, 36.

Division two: 1st. Rod Warren, 37 Points. 2nd.Ian McNaughton, 36. 3rd. (after count-back), Alistair Wadsworth 36.

Division three: 1st. Bill Harford, 36 points. 2nd. Alan Watford.34. 3rd.(after count-back), Colin McMahon,34.