Mackriel wins ding dong cup tie

THE first round of the Cameron Cup has now been played with six entries.

The most exciting game was between Rachel Mackriel and Jenny Townsend. Jenny made the initial start to be six-up at three ends.

Rachel was soon into the game and started to take the lead, but Jenny stayed very focused although still five shots down on the 15th end with the score to Rachel 14-9.

The next two ends went to Jenny with four shots and now just one shot adrift at 14-13. but with Rachel taking the next end with three shots she was now 17-13 up. Never say die Jennytook the next four ends to equalise at 17-17 before Rachel took the last two ends to win 21-17 in what had been an exciting, hard-fought game.

Irene Jackson was also through against Val Peel, and Christine Vermeulen was successful against Ursula Fenner.

Julie Savin played a strong positive game and went through against Barbara Manning.

Both Pauline Davies and Shelagh Allen went through with walk overs.

The second round has to be played by July 22 when eight couples will be taking part.

Strange things do happen in bowls games, as was the case in two of the Town Pairs games.

Helen Roe and Chris Tyler took the first six ends to be 10-0 up against Beth Clarke and Rachel Mackriel, but were unable to score again until the 17th end with one shot, while Beth and Rachel surged ahead to win 28-11.

It was a similar situation for Elaine Connor and Julie Savin against Cherie Stephens and Lorraine Hume, Cherie and Lorraine took the first five ends at 6-0, but Elaine and Julie were soon back and scoring a six on the ninth end put them in the lead by one.

Cherie and Lorraine started to make progress and by the 16th end were 20-13 up, however, Elaine and Julie took the next 3 ends with 10 shots to lie 23-20 up.

Cherie and Lorraine scored one more shot but with Elaine and Julie scoring 2 on the 21st end they won 25-21.

Other results: Gill Hill and Linda Stanley won against Jean Baulcombe And Ursula Fenner. Sandra Richardson and Val Peel won against Maurin Maslim & Paddy Kerwin. Elizabeth Jones & Sue Hatcher won against Irene Jackson & Sandra Dossett. Eve Goldsmith & Joan Jones won against June Leathers & Betty Box. Gill Bashford & Joan Wells won against Judy White & Doreen Over. Shelagh Allen & Kathy Pearse got a walkover from Ann Heasman & Pat Deacon