Harriers shine in the heat at Hellingly 10k

Runners set off in the Hellingly 10K
Runners set off in the Hellingly 10K

CLEAR skies and soaring temperatures greeted the competitors for the 2012 John Faulds Hellingly 10K road race on Sunday.

Now in its 28th year, the Hailsham Harriers-organised event saw almost 300 runners taking to the country lanes through the village and Magham Down with the return from Cowbeech to Grove Hill and the west of Hellingly.

The leading competitors were also battling for Sussex Road Race Grand Prix points, but many were running for fun, fitness and a personal best over this distance.

Ben Tickner, from City of Wells Harriers but also associated with Brighton Phoenix, triumphed in a great time of 33.02s with last year’s winner Daniel Anderson, of Hastings AC, runner-up in 34m03s. Tickner stayed with the leading group in the early stages before stepping up his pace to win by just over a minute with Harriers’ own Gary Judges third and first vet in 36m30s.

The ladies’ race proved a triumph for Harriers with the first three runners all coming from the host club. Sam Alvarez headed the field home in 40m49s, albeit by only eight seconds from runner-up Sue Fry. Third was Jo Curran.

Haywards Heath Harriers struck gold in the men’s team event (first four runners counting) with 43 points, Wadhurst Runners claimed silver with 70 and bronze went to Seaford Striders with 97.

In the ladies’ team awards (first three to score), Harriers were first with 10 points, Wadhurst Runners were second with 58 and Harriers’ own B squad came third with 105.

Harriers would like to thank all members and their families and friends who assisted with the marshaling and other tasks on the day, enabling the event to take place. Thanks also go to Hellingly Parish Council, East Sussex County Council, the vicar of Hellingly Parish Church, farmer Richard Lee for the use of his land, The Jog Shop Brighton for sponsorship with help from Freedom Leisure and Waitrose providing bottled water, and Sussex Sports Massage and The Red Cross for their medical assistance.

RESULTS: 3rd Gary Judges 36m30s, 24th (first lady) Sam Alvarez 40m49s, 26th (second lady) Sue Fry 40m57s, 27th Paul Standen-Payne 41m06s, 38th Howard Wright 42m09s, 41st (third lady) Jo Curran 42m47s, 42nd Dave Coulson 42m48s, 44th Bill Fraser 43m03s, 47th Martin Bell 43m32s, 53rd Liz Lumber 43m58s, 59th Graham Purdye 44m22s, 63rd Ivor Rumsey 44m46s, 68th Andrew Lillicrap 45m26s, 69th Juliette Sukoco 45m46s, 77th Craig Edkins 46m11s, 93rd Mark Gilbert 48m24s, 101st Rob Crouch 48m59s, 103rd Ian Turnbull 49m28s, 106th Kelly Tattam 49m52s, 110th Bob Semark 50m29s, 132nd Peter Drake 52m30s, 137th John Taylor 53m03s, 139th Nick Clennett 53m07s, 159th Stephen Webb 55m04s, 160th Jane Barlow 55m06s, 173rd Donna Hinton 56m19s, 176th Alan Clarke 56m21s, 198th Richard Tickner 59m15s, 201st Tim Bowler 55m92s, 223rd Nina Rumsey 1h02m43s, 239th Fran Doe 1h08m35s, 242nd Barbara Cordner 1h09m28s, 246th Lesley Underdown 1h13m31s, 248th Pat Wise 1h16m51s, 249th Alan Hide 1h16m55s, 254th Linda Rozental 1h22m22s.