Fast start helps to keep Judges in pole position

Gary Judges, Hailsham Harriers
Gary Judges, Hailsham Harriers

HAILSHAM Harriers held their first track championship event of 2012 and a good entry of 25 runners ensured some exciting racing over the 12-and-a-half laps of the Hailsham Community College track.

The weather became decidedly chilly with a northerly wind giving the runners an added challenge in the back straight, although the grass track surface itself was firm following the previous periods of heavy rain.

The event was held as one race but race numbers aided the lap scorers and timekeeper.

Gary Judges, who won the series last year, made his intentions known with a fast start.

But Matt Dowle and Paul Eccles were determined to give a tough chase, and these places remained the same at the finish.

Sam Alvarez hit the front in the ladies’ race, although newcomer Alissa Ellis provided a determined chase with Kelly Tattum, Jane Barlow and Julie Chicken all in early contention for high placings.

Positions and times: 1st Gary Judges 17m51s, 2nd Matt Dowle 18m07s, 3rd Paul Eccles 18m46s, 4th and 1st lady Sam Alvarez 20m01s, 5th Martin Bell 20m39s, 6th Bill Fraser 21m19s, 7th Allen Grant 21m28s, 8th Graham Purdye 21m28s, 9th and 2nd lady Alissa Ellis 22m07s, 10th Ivor Rumsey 22m19s, 11th and 3rd lady Kelly Tattum 23m27s, 12th Bob Semark 23m37s, 13th and 4th lady Jane Barlow 23m40s, 14th and 5th lady Julie Chicken 23m41s, 15th and 6th lady Karen Bowler 24m09s, 16th and 7th lady Becky Holland 24m18s, 17th Ian Turnbull 24m19s, 18th Nick Clennett 24m22s, 19th Rob Crouch 25m14s, 20th Mark Unsworth 25m34s, 21st and 8th lady Sandra Fowlie 26m13s, 22nd Alan Hide 26m18s, 23rd and 9th lady Helen Tickner 27m53s, 24th and 10th lady Nina Rumsey 30m14s, 25th and 11th lady Lett Burgess.

Sam leads the ladies

Bexhill Runners organised the first of their seafront series with a fast 5k out and back course from the sailing club.

In a field of 119, Andy Payne had a great run to finish in 10th place with Sam Alvarez hot on his heals to gain the ladies’ win with 12th overall and Paul Standen-Payne in contention with 13th.

Positions and chip times: 10th Andy Payne 19m02s, 12th (1st lady) Sam Alvarez 19m07s, 13th Paul Standen-Payne 19m15s, 26th Bill Fraser 20m27s, 29th Ian Pusey 21m00s, 33rd Louise Taylor 21m27s, 48th Huw Jones 22m40s, 53rd Karen Bowler 23m04s, 61st Alan Clarke 23m59s, 67th Lucy Wright 24m41s, 80th Tim Bowler 26m19s.

The other event held two days later was a new 10-mile race in Peasmarsh, near Rye, which formed part of the Sussex Grand Prix Series.

The course provided some testing hills for the 132 competitors, but Sam Alvarez continued with her amazing season to finish first Harrier, first lady and 14th overall with a chip time of 1hr08m12s.

Alan Thornton had a good run for 21st place with 1hr11m40s, and Louise Taylor came home as fifth lady and 50th overall in 1hr17m56s. Other Harriers competing were John Taylor 104th in 1hr35m30s and Tim Bowler 116th with 1hr42m50s.