Elphick and Gilder get in the swing

Eastbourne Park Golf Club took full advantage of the beautiful weather with a whole host of golf action during May.

The most successful result came from the team’s resounding 4-1 victory over Home Park Golf Club in their latest 9-hole League match, with captain Chris Elphick and partner Steve Gilder leading the way with a 4&3 win.

Martin Healy and Ian Stringer followed suit with a thumping 7&5, with pairs Dave Roy and Mike Reilly and Mark Inman and Duncan Platt also winning.

The Ladies section enjoyed mixed success after their whitewash Mini League victory over Hillbarn Golf Club was wiped out the following week with a 4-1 defeat to the same opponents.

The Seniors section enjoyed a leisurely month with the Stableford taking place on May, 15 and the May Texas Scramble going ahead the week after.

While heavy blustery showers made good golf difficult in the Stableford, nearly 40 seniors enjoyed a stroll in glorious sunshine at the Texas Scramble. Harvey Smith took the honours at the May Stableford with a first-place score of 43 points. Ralph Richardson was just behind him in second place with 40 points, two ahead of Steve Cantwell in third.

New members Dave Wright and Tim Capon played for their handicaps and the longest drive of the day was recorded on the 7th by Geoff Fordham.

The following week, members played as four balls with the group of Peter Lake, Brian Simes, Alan Skinner and Lars Bostrom putting in a superb game to return a net 53.

The group of Johnny Johnson, Frew Hillhouse, Ralph Richardson and Bill Thomas finished just one point behind. Two days later, the Seniors took part in a friendly match against Horam Park Golf Club but were unfortunate to go down 2-4.

Grant Jones and Harvey Smith were the only pairing to record a win as other pairs narrowly lost out.

To finish the month, the club hosted their annual Memorial Shield, which Len Blackman won with a net 60, just ahead of Geoff Fordham and Johnny Johnson.

Acting Captain, Chris Mottershead, presented Steve Lynch with the 2011/12 Winter Eclectic Trophy and Robbo Robertson with the Grand Prix Trophy.

The qualifiers for the Royal Eastbourne Golf Club Hambro Bowl were decided following their medal round and knock-out stage.

It set up the matches as follows: Jake Sage v John Bateman, Alan Watford v Simon Ward, Steve Williams v Tom Welch and Tom Breach v Adam Blackburn.

The Monday Stableford took place on May, 28 with Colin Ayling finishing first in Division One with 39 points. Tony Welton and John Nicholson finished in second and third with 37 and 36 points respectively.

In Division Two, Paul Sanders took the lead on 38 points with Keith Laflin and David Cooke both finishing on 36 points.