Dorman dominates with new custom clubs

Members of the Royal Eastbourne Golf Club finally got their chance to host the twice-postponed Moss Walters Salver, and it was Tony Dorman, with a brand new set of custom fitted clubs, who emerged victorious.

His score of 38 Stableford points was enough to see off last year’s winner John Corke, who finished a close second on 37. Noel Howcroft and Cyril Hudson both finished on 36 points, but the former took third place after a count-back.

Sam Russell, a former Junior Club captain and holder of the Eastbourne Amateur Championship, is competing in the USA as part of a golfing scholarship.

Russell claimed his best round of the season at Lake Hefner, a 7,212 yard course, where he shot a 7-under-par 65, finishing eighth overall.

The youngster finished third at the Bison Fall Classic, 12th at Lincoln Golf Club and a creditable 25th place amongst all of the golf colleges at the end of the Fall season, with a 72.1 stroke average.

Bay View Golf Club staged its annual awards ceremony – with Chris Mottershead receiving trophies for his victory in the Summer Matchplay competition and the most successful competitor in the club’s 18-hole competitions during 2012.

Tony Morris was matchplay runner-up.

Les Dervish won the inaugural award for the most birdies in the year’s competitions with 43 holes completed in one-under-par - almost double the number recorded by his nearest challenger.

Sue Kidd was the most successful player in the Bay View nine-hole competitions for 2012.

Glorious sunshine welcomed competitors at Willingdon Golf Club on Sunday morning, as they hosted the much anticipated Bicks Salver event.

The Bicks Salver, an 18-hole Rye Greensomes Stableford competition, proved to be a close encounter. Robert Gietzen and Michael Gietzen were the overall victors, winning with a total score of 46 points.

Second spot went to Mick Everingham and Leigh Larkin with 44 points (24 on the back nine), closely followed by Grant Jarvis and Garry Jarvis, who also scored 44.

The threatened rain held off long enough for Eastbourne Park GC Seniors to complete the Texas Scramble.

Johnny Johnson, Geoff Summerfield, Alan Robinson and Dave Lewry won with a net 53. George Schneider, Brian’Robbo’ Robertson, Len Blackman and Alan Skinner were second with a net 55..

The Seniors Section AGM is on Tuesday, November 27 at 8am for 8.30am, with a nine-hole thrash to follow. The other club sections’ AGM is on Monday, November 26 at7pm.