Colin’s unbeaten 40 helps Yew Tree topple the champions

THE Yew Tree recorded a tremendous victory as they beat defending champions Geebro on the opening day of the 2012 stoolball season.

This year’s league is made up of 34 teams in five divisions playing a fourteen-week season between May and August.

The first games were played last week with the weather postponing three fixtures on Wednesday.

The Yew Tree Chalvington reminded Geebro that they will have to work hard to retain their title as they narrowly defeated the champions by four runs.

Colin Lampshire 40 not out and Rhannon Turner-Noakes 16 not out ensured that Yew set a target of 124.

Geebro’s Nick Jenner 21, Noel Downer 23 and Gary Lucas 39 fell just short. Needing five runs to win of the last two balls Geebro failed to add to the score. Another close game in division one saw Rodmill prevail over Unison Renegades. Andy Axell’s 56 helping Renegades set a target of 115. Paul Hunisett (24) and then the last pair in Danny Simmonds 29 not out with Neil Craddock 20 not out eased Rodmill to victory with four balls to spare.

Favourites Red Lion start with a victory

In division two promotion favourites Red Lion narrowly overcame Pegasus.

Joel Message 28 and Sarah Creed 23 top scored for Red Lion and Lee Kenward’s 3-15 being the best of the Pegasus bowlers.

Janet Martin 21 and Adam Tiffin 41 almost reached Red Lion’s total of 101 but finished four runs short as the innings ended. The Stone Cross team, made up of younger players and definitely some oldies, defeated Park Royal with Joe Kenward’s 26 top scoring for Stone Cross.

Dave Morgan hit a decisive 55 for Old Town Wreckers to overcome Lamb Old Town by 23 runs, Josh Clarke giving chase with a lusty 45. Newly promoted Duetwag Chargers met old rivals Plummer Parsons in division three and it was the later who prevailed reaching their target of 90 with two overs to spare, opening bat Pete Walters top scoring with 35.

Division one: Geebro 6-119, Yew Tree 6-123; Rodmill 9-117, Unison Renegades 9-114. Division Two: Old Town Wreckers 2-121, Lamb Old Town 4-98; Pegasus 6-97, Red Lion 6-101; Stone Cross 8-65, Park Royal 5 -55. Division Three: Deutwag Chargers all out - 90, Plummer Parsons 7-93;Willingdon 9- 73, Dark Horses 2- 119. Division Four: Taxes 8-103, Ocklynge all out 96; DPB 152, Next Generation 85; Oasis W/O v Roselands.