Champion stuff from athletes Dave and Kelly

Hailsham Harriers outside Herstmonceux Castle
Hailsham Harriers outside Herstmonceux Castle

THE Hailsham Harriers Summer Track Club Championships concluded with the 100m races.

Conditions on the grass track were difficult but that didn’t deter the competitors who lined-up across the three races, even if there were some notable absentees.

Race one was a mixed event and Alan Hide was the winner in 16.90s from Norman Harris (18.15s) with Fran Doe (21.00s) third and Let Burgess (21.22s) fourth.

Race two with seeded mixed runners saw Bob Seamark take a great win in 13.34s with Julie Chicken second in 16.00s, Graham Purdye third in 17.03s, Bill Fraser fourth in 18.10s and Sandra Fowlie fifth in 18.60s.

The final race was a head-to-head between 200m winner Huw Jones and Dave Coulson, who has scored consistently well throughout the series.

Jones came out on top in 12.66s with Coulson second in 13.10s, Andy Ruffell (15.02s) third, Alissa Ellis (16.77s) fourth and Kelly Tattam (17.00s) fifth. The overall championship went to the consistent and versatile Coulson (men) and Tattam (women).

Series standings - men: 1 Dave Coulson 112pts, 2 Huw Jones 107, 3 Gary Judges 99, 4 Allen Grant 90, 5 Bill Fraser 83, 6 Graham Purdye 77. Ladies: 1 Kelly Tattam 109pts, 2 Julie Chicken 107, 3= Alissa Ellis and Jane Barlow 96, 5 Sandra Fowlie 76, 6 Karen Bowler 65.

The club also hosted its annual Herstmonceux Castle Relay on a lovely evening. Thirty-four teams of four lined-up with each runner completing a one-and-a-half mile lap over a mix of soft ground, track and a section of road with the start and finish in front of the castle.

The winners were the Hastings AC team of Daniel Anderson, James Climpson, Rich Vidler and Sean Parker-Harding in 30m27s. Runners-up were Lewes AC.

Harriers picked up the men’s vets award via Andy Ruffell, Paul Eccles, Dave Mercer and Mark Fox (35m46s), plus the ladies’ team prize courtesy of Sam Alvarez, Juliette Sukoco, Jo Curran and Emma Richards (36m05s).

The fastest individual leg time was clocked by Josh Burgess (Lewes) in 7m01s. Harriers duo Alvarez and Richards were the quickest ladies with 8m47s.