Belfield wins title cut short by weather

Phil Belfield and Jerry Cowell
Phil Belfield and Jerry Cowell

THE Royal Eastbourne Golf Club championship event fell victim to the weather last weekend, forcing the title to be decided over just 18 holes for the first time in many years.

Heavy overnight rain on Friday left several greens and bunkers so waterlogged as to render play impossible on the Saturday.

However, conditions cleared up to allow play on Sunday, although strong winds ensured it was never easy going for the competitors.

In the end, Phil Belfield became 2012 men’s champion, carding 68 to finish with a two-shot win over Sam Russell, who was hampered by a serious ankle problem.

Steve Clarke equalled Sam’s score but fell behind on countback, while Alex Piper continues to improve with his 72 score placing him fourth.

In the Ladies’ Championship, junior Hope Beland took the honours, recording 82 gross ahead of Teresa Ward on 85.

Another junior, Rebecca Hine, finished third with 90 and just behind her was Angela Cole on 92.

Phil Belfield repeated his success in the Frank Silcock Trophy for 0-18 handicap players, taking the title with a net 64, beating Alistair Wadsworth and Alex Piper in second and third respectively.

The Holly Scallon Trophy was won by Mark Poulton on net 66, four shots over Rob Dyer in second place.

The Veterans’ Scratch Championship was won by Ian Hunt while the Mid-Age Scratch Championship title was taken by Steve Clarke.

In the Ladies’ Handicap events, Angela Cole scored net 72 to take the Valentine Trophy ahead of Hope Beland in second.

Promising junior Rebecca Hine recorded a runaway victory in the Elspeth Brady Salver, finishing 15 shots ahead of Wendy Gordon and Jenny Bruce.

In the Junior events, Nick Ward scored a gross 143 over 36 holes to become Scratch Champion, while Ben Clarke’s 36-hole net 132 won him the title of Handicap Champion.

Pictured are the men’s and ladies’ champions receiving their prizes.

Pictured top is Phll Belfield receiving his trophy from men’s club captain, Jerry Cowell, and below teenager Hope Beland is presented with her trophy from ladies’ skipper, Wendy Goodman.