Amy beats defending champ to seal singles title

Amy Truman
Amy Truman

His worship the Mayor attended the 76th Eastbourne Ladies Open Bowls Tournament sponsored by Mr Neil Kirby, from the Langham Hotel.

Tournament officials announced that this was the last year that the ladies tournament will take place in the current format. Next year, the ladies will run alongside the men, making an ‘Eastbourne Open Tournament’, which will go from July, 13 to July, 18 2014.

In the ladies singles competition, Amy Truman defeated Joan Jones 21-9 in the final. Amy had played some high-scoring games throughout and didn’t disappoint on the main stage - she took the lead and stayed there to take the spoils from last year’s winner.

In the third-place play-off, Christine Vermuelen stormed to a 21-9 victory over Jean Asquith After being 9-6 ahead, Mrs Vermuelen took 8 of the next 10 ends to record a third-place finish.

The ladies pairs final was contested by the pairings of Stella Lysaght and Jean Akehurst against Pat Nicholls and Gill Henry, with the former securing an emphatic 27-15 victory, which was a fantastic triumph for the pairing after defeat in last year’s final.

The mixed pairs was battled out between Joan Jones and Ron Putland versus the pair of Rachel Mackriell and Mike Taylor. Rachel and Mike put in a sublime performance to win the game 22-8.

Rachel was awarded the Perpetual Cup, which is given to the club member that goes furthest in the tournament without gaining a trophy. Runner up to this - the Mayhew Memorial Trophy - was awarded to Shirley Sparkes.

Tournament President Barbara Archer congratulated all the winners and runners up, and welcomed the Mayor and Mayoress to the prize giving ceremony and thanks was given to everybody that had participated, officiated and volunteered, with a special thanks to the venue holders, Princes Park.