Hellingly’s Oakshott Cup romp

Oakshott Cup winners Hellingly Cricket Club
Oakshott Cup winners Hellingly Cricket Club
Share this article

Zayne Bux and skipper James Pooley smashed Hellingly to a nine-wuicket victory against Buxted Park in the 2013 Oakshott Cup final.

The Oakshott Cup is one of the oldest (if not the oldest) 20 over competitions of its kind in the world.

It was first contested in 1921, and won by many clubs. Buxted Park were aiming for their first win of the trophy whereas Hellingly were competing for their 14th.

Winning the toss Buxted Park elected to bat first but lost two early wickets taken by Adam Devlin and Will Hook.

Rob Raymond came in and smashed 53 from 35 balls, and John Anderson hit 10 from fiveballs as Buxted began to head for a sizable total. But five tight overs from Bob Pye brought the run rate down.

Lloyd Burgess, carried his bat throughout the innings, but only scored 39 from a whopping 53 balls and at 20 overs Buxted Park finished with 137-5.

The reply for Hellingly got off to an exciting start with Tom Rothero smashing an enormous six before being caught out the next ball.

Captain James Pooley joined Zayne Bux and the pair saw off the opening bowlers as they kept just above the run rate.

With nine wickets in hand, the final 10 overs saw Bux and Pooley smash the remaining runs as Bux ended with a run a ball 64* and Pooley hit 64 himself including 4 fours and an incredible five sixes as Hellingly comfortably won with 10 balls remaining.

Pooley was clearly man of the match and as captain thoroughly deserved to lift the trophy for Hellingly for the 14th time.

A barbecue followed the game put on by hosts of the final Herstmonceux before celebrations got truly underway at Hellingly.

On Saturday Dan Pellett grabbed 6-13 from nine overs asHellingly dismissed bottom club Lewes Priory for just 82.

In reply Hellingly lost two early wickets bfeore James Pooley hammered three sixes and five fours in his 51 and with Zayne Bux hurried their team to victory in just 11 overs.