Town boss Bloor is missing a Superman in Kent

Town made their first visit to Salter’s Lane on Saturday and returned empty handed after Faversham extended their unbeaten run to sixteen matches.

Danny Bloor’s side had fallen to their first defeat in four games five days earlier at Chatham and a second visit to Kent was just as unhappy.

Town had managed three consecutive victories and three clean sheets in a row before that, but have now conceded six times in two matches.

The visitors started slowly as Faversham took advantage of the sloping pitch and came close to scoring after eight minutes.

A through ball from Tom Hickman was cleverly dummied by Damian Abel before falling to Justin Ascheri whose shot was well blocked by the feet of Kieron Thorp.

Two minutes later Abel went even closer - his powerful shot from the right side of the box clipped the top of Thorp’s crossbar.

Town came back into the game as Tim Rivers shot wide and then came close from a corner.

But Faversham pressure was building and on 25 minutes Dane Luchford received the ball in a wide left position, cut inside Joe Goldsmith before driving the ball across the box and into the far right of Thorp’s goal.

After the break the home side stepped up a gear with headed chances for both Jack Baldwin and Ashley Brown narrowly missing the target as they pushed to maintain their advantage. Rivers had Town’s best chance but shot wide.

Manager Bloor brought on Peter Cooper and recent signing Jordon Anderson to try and get back into the game but all hope evaporated when Faversham doubled their lead on 75 minutes.

Dave Botterill’s run down the left saw the Town winger lay an inch-perfect ball into the box for Ascheri, who had enough time to take a touch before volleying home.

The hosts sealed the three points on 83 minutes when Eastbourne skipper Greg Manton gifted the ball to Tom Hickman and the Faversham man made no mistake - comfortably slotting past Thorp.

Town: Thorp 7, Goldsmith 6, Kessack 6, G Manton 6, Elliott 6, Ferdinando 5 (Masters 6), Simmonds 6 (Anderson 6), Crabb 5, Rivers 6, B Manton 5, Farrell 5 (Cooper 6).

Subs not used: Brooks, Davidson

MoM: Kieron Thorp.

Referee C Hatzidakis 7.

Att: 133