Haysman strike caps fine 3-0 win for Borough

Tommy Widdrington
Tommy Widdrington

Eastbourne Borough notched their third successive Conference South victory at Priory Lane on Saturday, demolishing visitors Bishops Stortford with an impressive team performance.

First half goals from Simon Johnson and Darren Lok put Borough in control, and the lead rarely looked threatened before substitute Kane Haysman scored a wonderful stoppage-time third.

Boss Tommy Widdrington kept faith with the starting eleven which had won impressively at Staines, and his youthful team responded with another energetic front-foot performance. Stortford, on their own four-match unbeaten run, put up rather muscular resistance but rarely looked like clawing the game back once behind.

Johnson’s opener – a rare header from the athletic Borough midfielder – came on 33 minutes after a sweeping move and a right-wing cross from Gavin McCallum.

Just eight minutes later, Darren Lok’s stunning left-foot strike from a corner doubled the lead. And there were several frantic goalmouth moments as the Sports turned on the style in the final minutes of the half.

After the break, the driving wind that had been at Eastbourne’s backs proved of little benefit to the visitors, who were often careless with their possession. They did not really trouble Lewis Carey until three minutes from time, when the home keeper made a smart stop from Ashley Miller to preserve his fourth successive clean sheet.

But in an extraordinary finale, it was Haysman who had the home crowd cheering to the echo. Three minutes into stoppage time, the lively young attacker picked up a ball out of defence on the halfway line and launched an audacious run, leaving defenders for dead and clipping his shot over the keeper for a brilliant third goal.

Just six games of the season now remain. The way Widdrington’s team are now playing, they must wish it was twenty-six…

Borough: Carey, Sessegnon, Beale, Evans, Simpemba, Khinda-John, Worrall, McCallum, Pinney, Johnson, Lok.

Subs: Subs: Aldred, Pacquette, Haysman, Watts, Rogers