Defenders Elliot and Fogden cannot be separated at awards night

Steve Elliot and Nick Fogden
Steve Elliot and Nick Fogden

Steve Elliot and Nick Fogden shared the Manager’s Player of the Year award as Eastbourne Town celebrated their 130th season at their annual award dinner.

The event, held at the Cumberland Hotel, started with a speech by Town Chairman David Jenkins before he was joined by Vice-Chairman Tony Guarino to hand out the awards.

Vicky Phillips

Vicky Phillips

Danny Bloor’s choice of player of the year was split between the solid centre-back pairing of Elliot and Fogden, with the players opting for Steve May as their Player’s Player of the Year.

Max Hollobone took home the Young Player of the Year award after some impressive performances in the first team towards the end of the season. Keiron Thorp scooped the Supporters’ Player of the Year trophy.

After a fantastic season winning the County Reserve Premier League, the Town Reserves gave their Player of the Year awards to Craig MacFarlane and Toby Collins, with manager Peter Haydock promising to provide more talented young players to break through into the first team.

There was much praise for the Town Ladies team who had another fantastic season under manager Garry Pearce, with Vicky Phillips picking up both Players’ and Manager’s Player of the Year.

Winners of the Ryman Under 18s team awards were presented by manager Paul Lewis to Nathan Guy and Josh Brunt before Joe Summerbell and Jake Bilal bagged awards for the Sussex County Under 18s team.

Manager Wayne Field gave a fine speech before Summerbell, who also had a stint in the first team at the tail end of last season, wowed the crowds with an enthusiastic rendition of Dancing Queen as part of his first-team ‘initiation’.

Off the pitch, Garry Pearce picked up the Chairman’s Award while Club Person of the Year went to long standing committee member Chris Blackhurst, who has done sterling work for the club’s 130th anniversary celebrations.

The night ended with a stirring speech by first team manager Danny Bloor who, between well received jokes at his players’ expense, looked forward to building on this season’s great results with improvement next year.

First Team Players’ Player: Steve May, First Team Manager’s Player: Steve Elliott & Nick Fogden, Young Player of the Year: Max Hollobone, Supporters’ Player of the Year: Keiron Thorp, Second Team Player’s Player: Craig McFarlane, Second Team Player’s Player: Toby Collins,

Ladies Team Player’s Player: Vicky Phillips, Ladies Team Manager’s Player: Vicky Phillips, Ladies Team Most Improved: Stephanie Harrison,

Ryman’s U18s Manager’s Player: Nathan Guy, Ryman’s U18s Player’s Player: Josh Brunt, Sussex County U18s Manager’s Player: Joe Summerbell, Sussex County U18s Player’s Player: Jake Bilal, Club Person of the Year: Chris Backhurst, Chairman’s Award: Gary Pearce