Chelsea first up for Brighton but which team will Lewis Dunk be playing for?

The release of the fixture list for the new Premier League season never fails to deliver intrigue and interesting sub plots

Thursday, 20th August 2020, 4:23 pm
Brighton's first match of the 2020/21 season will be against Chelsea at the Amex Stadium on September 14

Brighton welcome Frank Lampard's Chelsea to the Amex Stadium on the opening day of the new season on September 14 (8pm) but the question many Albion are already asking is: which team will their skipper Lewis Dunk be lining up for?

Dunk - a boyhood Chelsea fan - has been the topic of plenty of transfer speculation this summer and it's been widely reported that Chelsea are ready to part with £40m to secure the services of Brighton's best player.

The Albion hierarchy remain frustrated with the rumours circulating around their skipper and it would indeed be a cruel blow for supporters to see Dunk, 28, line-up against them on the first match of a brand new season - Albion's fourth consecutive campaign in the top flight.

The club have already resisted three offers from Leeds United for defender Ben White and knocked back an approach from West Brom for Shane Duffy.

The defence was boosted further by the recent addition of Dutch international Joel Veltman from Ajax as well as the return of White, Matt Clarke and Leo Ostigard from loans.

With the Chelsea match just one month away, Albion have huge decisions to make in defensive areas.

Who Graham Potter will have to line-up at the back on September 14 will be the subject of much discussion and negotiation between now and then...but one thing is certain, Albion fans will want to see Dunk in Brighton's new blue kit next season not the blue of Chelsea.

All fixtures are subject to broadcast requirements with the first TV selections due to be announced by the Premier League next week.

Brighton's 2020/21 Premier League fixtures (3pm kick-off unless stated)

September 14: Chelsea (h) 8pm; 19: Newcastle United (a) 26: Manchester United (h).

October 3: Everton (a); 17: Crystal Palace (a); 24: West Bromwich Albion (h); 31: Tottenham Hotspur (a).

November 7: Burnley (h); 21: Aston Villa (a); 28: Liverpool (h).

December 5: Southampton (h); 12: Leicester City (a); 15: Fulham (a) 7.45pm; 19: Sheffield United (h); 26: West Ham United (a); 28: Arsenal (h).

January 2: Wolverhampton (h); 13: Manchester City (a) 8pm; 16: Leeds United (a); 26: Fulham (h) 7.45pm; 30: Tottenham Hotspur (h).

February 3: Liverpool (a) 8pm; 6: Burnley (a); 13: Aston Villa (h); 20: Crystal Palace (h); 27: West Bromwich Albion (a).

March 6: Leicester City (h); 13: Southampton (a); 20 Newcastle United (h).

April 3: Manchester United (a); 10: Everton (h); 17: Chelsea (a); 24: Sheffield United (a).

May 1: Leeds United (h); 8: Wolverhampton (a); 11: West Ham United (h) 7.45pm; 15: Manchester City (h); 23: Arsenal (a) 4pm.