Youngsters honoured at Wealden’s ceremony for safety

The award winners
The award winners
Share this article

CHILDREN from across the district were prize-winners in an event to celebrate Wealden District Council’s recent safety awards.

The district council was the only authority in East Sussex to gain the LASER (Learning About Safety in Action) this year.

On Friday (July 11) the 20th anniversary Safety in Action event took place at Herstmonceux Castle.

Councillor Jonica Fox, the chairman of Wealden Distrct Council, received the LASER accreditation from Cassius Francis of the Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents.

The winning schools in this year’s Safety in Action were: First prize winners – Mayfield C of E Primary School; Laurence Reeve Memorial Trophy for Road Safety – St Mary The Virgin C of E Primary School, Hartfield; Police Award winners – Herstmonceux Primary; Fire Safety winners – Willingdon Primary.

Also in attendance was the High Sheriff of East Sussex, Kathy Gore.