Wealden District Council Cabinet reshuffle

The new Cabinet at Wealden District Council
The new Cabinet at Wealden District Council

CHANGES to Wealden District Council’s Cabinet were announced at the council’s annual meeting.

Two new councillors joined the Cabinet: Cllr Jan Dunk, who takes responsibility for corporate assets and revenues and benefits, and Cllr Rowena Moore who takes responsibility for waste management.

Cllr Pam Doodes stood down, and was thanked by Councillor Bob Standley for the number of roles she had taken in recent years.

The Cabinet responsibilities are: Cllr Bob Standley, leader; also responsible for finance and policy, Cllr Claire Dowling, corporate services and deputy leader, Cllr Jan Dunk, corporate assets, Cllr Rowena Moore, waste management, Cllr Roy Galley, planning and development, Cllr Graham Wells, affordable housing, Cllr Johanna Howell, community and voluntary sector.

Cllr Jonica Fox was re-elected chairman of the council unopposed and Cllr Brian Redman was elected vice-chairman

The following positions were also approved: chairman of the licensing committee: Cllr Susan Stedman, chairman of the community and environment scrutiny committee: Cllr David Larkin, chairman of internal and audit scrutiny committee: Cllr Huw Merriman, chairman of planning committee north: Cllr Ann Newton, chairman of planning committee south: Cllr Barby Dashwood-Morris, chairman of the personnel committee: Cllr Claire Dowling, chairman of the standards committee: Cllr Lin Clark (July 1).

The council was presented with the South East Charter for member development at the full council meeting which also took place on May 16.

This is in recognition of the councillor training programme carried out by Wealden to provide elected members with the skills and knowledge to effectively serve their communities.