Voters go to the polls for by-election

The people of Meads Ward are going to the polls today (Thursday, May 31) to vote for a new member on Eastbourne Borough Council.

Polling stations opened at 10am and will stay open until 10pm and people will have five candidates to pick from.

The winner will replace Nigel Goodyear, who quit his seat last month to campaign to become the new police and crime commissioner for Sussex.

Those standing in the Meads by-election are Caroline Ansell for the Conservative Party, Ian Cameron for the UK Independence Party, Dennis Scard for the Labour Party, Liberal Democrat Gerard Thompson and Keith Gell, who is standing as an Independent.

The successful candidate will sit on Eastbourne Borough Council until the council is re-elected in May 2015.

Who do you think will win? Have you voted? Should councillors be members of a party of stand-alone candidates? Leave your thoughts below.