SEAFORD: It’s all change at the town council

The new team for Seaford Town Council
The new team for Seaford Town Council

THE new faces of Seaford Town Council turned out to its first meeting since being voted in at this month’s election.

The council has seen a major reshuffle after only six of the previous council chose to stand again - only four being re-elected.

The changes mean the council now has a Conservative stronghold after being Liberal Democrat-led since 2003.

The meeting on Tuesday saw Councillor Linda Wallraven elected - mayor with Councillor Sylvia Dunn as deputy.

Cllr Wallraven was handed the mayoral badge by outgoing mayor Cllr Bob Allen who said, “It’s been an absolutely fantastic year and it couldn’t have happened without the help, support and imagination of three special people.” He went on to thank town clerk Sam Shippen, mayor’s secretary Paula Woolven and his wife and outgoing mayoress Jill Allen.

Cllr Wallraven said, “This is a very proud moment for me, a great honour. Past mayors have all done great work for the town and I hope I can follow suit.”

The Bishopstone resident announced WAVES as her chosen charity. It is based in Church Street in Seaford and offers practical help and support to families in the town.

Councillor Ian White was elected as leader of the majority party and fellow Conservative Mark Brown deputy.

Lib Dems Bob Allen and Sarah McStravick took on the role as leader and deputy leader of the minority party respectively.

It was also agreed past councillors should be recognised for their role within the community and long-serving Councillors Eddie Collict and Jon Freeman, who have represented the town council for 12 years, can expect to receive hand-painted wooden plaques, while councillors who have served four years will get a framed certificate and those who have stood for eight years a wooden plaque.

During the meeting, last Tuesday, members were also agreed to represent different committees within the town council.