New chairman for the district council

Chairman Councillor Brian Redman pictured with vice chairman Councillor Barby Dashwood-Morris.
Chairman Councillor Brian Redman pictured with vice chairman Councillor Barby Dashwood-Morris.

A new chairman has been announced for Wealden District Council after Councillor Jonica Fox stepped down after two years in the role.

At the annual meeting of the WDC Councillor Brian Redman was proposed by Councillor Fox and appointed as her replacement.

Councillor Barby Dashwood-Morris is now the new vice chairman.

Cllr Fox said, “I hadn’t realised just how many wonderful people quietly contribute so much of their time, experience, care and vision to their communities.”

The meeting also saw a cabinet re-shuffle and other positions for the responsibility on different committees approved by members.

Within the council’s cabinet Councillor Roy Galley became portfolio holder for Economic Development and Regeneration while Councillor Ann Newton now heads up Planning and Development.

Cllr Bob Stanley, Wealden District Council’s leader, thanked councillors for all their work over the past year and said he looked forward to the challenges in the year ahead.

The cabinet responsibilities are: Cllr Bob Stanley, leader and also responsible for governance and strategic finance; Cllr Claire Dowling, public health and community safety and deputy leader; Cllr Roy Galley, economic development and regeneration; Cllr Ann Newton, planning and development; Cllr Nick Collinson, community leadership and communications; Cllr Graham Wells, housing and asset management, while Cllr Rowena Moore is responsible for customer services and benefits.

The chairman of different committees were also announced at the meeting with Cllr Cussons heading up the licensing committee and Cllr Fox the chairman of the overview and scrutiny committee.

Cllr Peter Roundell is chairman of audit and finance comittee, while Cllr Chris Hardy will oversee planning committee north.

Cllr Susan Stedman, Cllr Galley and Cllr Lin Clark were named as chairman of planning committee south, personal committee and standards commmittee respectively.