MP’s album to be released

Share this article

The musical talents of Polegate MP Norman Baker can be heard on the first album released by his band next week.

The Reform Club, which is led by Mr Baker, has recorded 15 original songs for the album called Always Tomorrow, which features Mr Baker’s daughter playing the ukulele and his step-daughter on the violin.

The songs were all written by Mr Baker with guitarist Mike Phipps and the album is due to be released on Monday (March 25).

The other two band members are Newhaven residents Dave Twaits on bass guitar and Chris Dartnell on drums.

It was recorded in Brighton and Seaford between August and November last year.

One of the songs is called Brightling Church, about an East Sussex church of the same name, a picture which appears on the front cover.

Mr Baker, who is lead singer and chief lyricist of the band, said, “It’s been great fun making the album and being able to work with some great musicians, both the other band members and our guest musicians.

“Music is very important to me and a big part of my life when I switch off from the day job. I hope people enjoy what we’ve put together.”

Mr Baker and Mr Phipps wrote their first song together three decades ago, after quitting their jobs at Our Price. A week later the MP sent Mr Phipps lyrics for a song he had written.

It was then decades before the pair got back in touch with the MP saying that making a vinyl record of original songs was on his list of things to do.

The Reform Club was formed by Mr Baker in the 1990s to play covers in pubs and clubs around Sussex. When the two men started on the album Mr Baker asked his old bandmates Dave and Chris to join them.

The album will be available in shops on CD and LP and on download.

A video of one of the songs, Piccadilly Circus, will shortly be available on youtube.

There is also a band website at and a Facebook page.

To find out more visit: