Iconic landmark that took two years to build

editorial image
Share this article

To mark the repainting of the Beachy Head Lighthouse this month, Looking Back has delved in to its archives for these stunning photographs of the iconic landmark being constructed.

Work began on building the lighthouse in 1900 and was to replace the nearby Belle Tout Lighthouse which had been abandoned due to being frequently shrouded in mist and threatened with collapse because of recurrent falls of chalk from the cliff.

It took two years to complete and involved building a coffer-dam and a cableway from the top of the cliffs to carry materials down to the site.

Some 3,660 tons of Cornish granite were used in the construction of the tower.