Glittering night of achievement

Sussex Downs College awards
Sussex Downs College awards

SUSSEX Downs College held its annual awards ceremony at the Grand Hotel earlier this month to honour and recognise outstanding student success.

The evening celebrated students’ achievements from across the college and also acted as a showcase for students’ work through displays and performances.

Awards were presented to the successful students by the mayor of Lewes John Stockdale, Eastbourne mayor Carolyn Heaps and Eastbourne MP Stephen Lloyd.

Melanie Hunt, principal and chief executive of Sussex Downs College, said, “The evening celebrated the outstanding work and achievements of our students, seeing some of their work in action and also recognising the remarkable success of 22 of our fantastic learners.

“Our award winners were joined on the evening by representatives from our sponsors as well as their parents, partners, family and friends, who play a major role in students’ success. Without the support and encouragement of those around us, success is much more difficult to achieve.

“Our expert and committed staff have, for the fifth year running, improved student success rates on our long courses, which is the majority of our provision, keeping us in the top ten per cent of colleges nationally.

“They have also helped learners to win national awards, gold medals in regional competitions and progress to some of the most prestigious universities, as well as helping many students to find employment – a remarkable achievement in such challenging economic times.”

Heart FM’s Lynsey Bartlett was the guest presenter.

Entertainment at the reception was provided by magician Sam Jones, a former performing arts student and a pre-professional music string quartet from the East Sussex Music Academy: Juliette Gregg, Holly Gurney, Tom Widdicombe and Rosie Taekema.

During the evening guests also listened to singing performances from performing art students, Lois Russell-Moyle, Ellie Goddard and Holly Manning. Table decorations and bouquets were provided by Judy Kneen, a floristry lecturer.

Among the winners and students highly commended were Reece Love, 19, from East Dean and a former Ratton School pupil, Jade Govan, 20, from Hailsham.

Former Hailsham Community College pupil, Katherine Bristow, 19, was honoured along with Eastbourne, Yuka Furuya, 16, from Japan, Inmaculada Gomez Criado, 25, from Spain, Jaki Poyton, 21, Julian Dixon, 19, Patrick Laganowski, 26, all from Eastbourne, Lorna Gordon, 20, from Eastbourne and a former ETC pupil, Edward Salvi, 18, from Polegate, a former Willingdon School pupil, Josh Babarinde, 18, from Eastbourne, a former Cavendish School pupil, Fraser Caygill, 19, from Eastbourne, a former Willingdon School pupil, Daryl Cole, 20, from Eastbourne, and Jarrad Rush, 17, from Seaford and a former Seaford Head pupil.