Election 2015: Six put nominations in for Eastbourne MP election


Six people have thrown their hats in the ring today for the battle to be Eastbourne’s next MP.

Nominations closed at 4pm today (Thursday) and as expected, all the main political parties are fielding candidates for the General Election on Thursday May 7.

Stephen Lloyd, of Bradford Street, is defending his 3,435 majority from 2010.

Flying the Conservative flag is teacher and mother of three Caroline Ansell, of Baldwin Avenue. Schoolteacher Jake Lambert, of Gore Park Road, is the Labour Party’s candidate and journalist Nigel Jones, who lives in Lewes, is the UKIP candidate.

Andrew Durling, of Rattle Road, Westham, is the Green Party candidate and there is also an Independent candidate this year, Paul Howard, of Willingdon Road.

The town goes to the polls to elect the next MP on Thursday May 7.

Polling stations will be open from 7am-10pm with the count being held at the Town Hall with the results announced in the early hours of Friday morning.

Today was also the closing date for people wanting to stand for election to Eastbourne Borough Council.

Some 115 people have put nomination papers in for 27 seats on the council and their names are expected to be released soon.