ELECTION 2015: Eastbourne polling stations open

editorial image

Voters from Eastbourne will head to the polls today (Thursday) in one of the most hotly contested General Elections in living memory.

National opinion polls have shown Conservatives and Labour neck and neck over the last few days, and even if one party emerges the winner, neither are expected to have a majority of MPs in the House of Commons.

Locally, voters are electing a Member of Parliament and 27 councillors to Eastbourne Borough Council.

Candidates in Eastbourne hoping to replace Liberal Democrat Stephen Lloyd as MP, who had a 3,435 majority in 2010, are the Conservative Party’s Caroline Ansell, Labour’s Jake Lambert, UKIP’s Nigel Jones, the Green Party’s Andrew Durling and Independent Paul Howard.

To see profiles of all six candidates in the Eastbourne parliamentary election click here

In Polegate and Seaford Liberal Democrat Norman Baker will be trying to hold his seat – and a healthy 7,647 majority – with stiff competition from Conservative Maria Caulfield, Labour’s Lloyd Russell-Moyle, Alfie Stirling from the Green Party and UKIP’s Ray Finch.

In Hailsham the Conservatives will be hoping to keep the seat blue with candidate Nus Ghani who is standing in place of Tory stalwart Charles Hendry who is stepping down.

She faces competition from Liberal Democrat Giles Goodall, Labour’s Solomon Curtis, UKIP’s Peter Griffiths and Mark Smith from the Green Party.

Polls open at 7am and close at 10pm, with Eastbourne Borough Council elections running alongside the national poll.

Voters will elect three councillors in each of the nine wards across the borough – Devonshire, Hampden Park, Langney, Meads, Old Town, Ratton, St Anthony’s, Sovereign and Upperton.

A full list of the 115 borough council candidates can be seen by clicking here and choosing the relevant ward.

According to the Met Office, voters heading out today can expect a dry and mostly sunny day across Sussex.

For all the news from 10pm when the polls shut to the results in the early hours of tomorrow morning, as well as reaction and comment check our website www.eastbourneherald.co.uk, the Eastbourne Herald and Gazette Facebook page and follow us on Twitter @Eastbournenews