Election 2015: Devonshire, Langney, Sovereign and Hampden Park count results


The first four wards in today’s borough council election count have been declared.

Devonshire, Hampden Park, Langney and Sovereign were the first four wards to be counted this morning (Saturday).

The Liberal Democrats have managed to hang on to all three seats in Devonshire, Langney and Hampden Park while the Conservatives have three seats in Sovereign.

In Langney councillors Harun Miah, Alan Shuttleworth and Troy Tester were re-elected.

In Hampden Park Lib Dems Pat Hearn and Jim Murray were re-elected and Colin Swansborough, a former councillor, was also elected for the party after Mike Thompson stood down.

In Devonshire, Liberal Democrats Margaret Bannister and Steve Wallis were elected and newcomer Steven Holt was elected after Neil Stanley stepped down.

In Sovereign Councillor Gordon Jenkins was re-elected along with newcomers Penny Di Cara and Ray Blakeborough.

All of the council is up for election this year.

When voters went to the polls on Thursday they voted for 27 councillors as well as the town’s MP for the next five years.

Conservative Caroline Ansell swept to victory and ousted Liberal Democrat Stephen Lloyd.

The other five wards – Meads, Old Town, Ratton, St Anthony’s and Upperton – are being counted.

It appears so far that the Conservatives have lost all of their three seats in Upperton.

The council was controlled by the Liberal Democrats with 15 councillors, 12 Conservative councillors and one Independent.

Keep up to date with all the results here on the Herald website, on Facebook and on Twitter @Eastbournenews