Eastbourne council elections results

ELECTION fever reached its climax in the early hours of this morning as the Liberal Democrats narrowly clung on to power at Eastbourne Borough Council.

They retained control of the council but suffered heavy defeats losing seats in the wards of Sovereign and Upperton.

The final results were announced shortly before 4.30am this morning at Eastbourne’s Winter Garden.

In Langney the Liberal Democrats kept their three seats and councillors Harun Miah and Troy Tester are now joined by Lib Dem stalwart Alan Shuttleworth.

It was the same story in Devonshire where Lib Dems Margaret Bannister, Steve Wallis and Neil Stanley were re-elected for another four years and in St Anthony’s with councillors David Tutt, Jon Harris and Gill Mattock retaining their seats.

In Meads and Ratton the Conservative flag is still flying with the re-election of David Elkin, Nigel Goodyear and Barry Taylor in the former and longstanding councillors Sandie Howlett and Colin Belsey are joined by new colleague Colin Murdoch in the latter.

Hampden Park has two new Liberal Democrat faces and Pat Hearn and Jim Murray will join forces with Mike Thompson.

The Liberal Democrats lost heavily in Sovereign losing all three seats to Tories Philip Ede, Patrick Warner and Gordon Jenkins and in Upperton there was a two seat swing to the Conservatives with Annabelle West, Tom Liddiard and Alun Cooke sweeping to victory.

Old Town was always going to be a bone of contention but after a recount in the early hours of the morning Eastbourne’s Lib Dem mayor Carolyn Heaps was joined by political allies John Ungar and Janet Coles.

Full results and reports in your Gazette on Wednesday.

The Liberal Democrats have 15 seats and the Conservatives have 12.