Countdown begins to council election race


The countdown has begun to the East Sussex County Council elections.

The elections – to vote for councillors to represent Eastbourne on the county council – will be held on Thursday May 2 and voters in Eastbourne will choose a councillor in each of the nine wards, Meads, Ratton, Old Town, Hampden Park, St Anthony’s, Sovereign, Langney, Upperton and Devonshire.

The current councillors for those areas are Barry Taylor (Conservative) in Meads, Colin Belsey (Conservative) in Ratton, David Elkin (Conservative) in Sovereign, Carolyn Heaps (Lib Dem) in Old Town, Mike Thompson (Lib Dem) in Hampden Park, Pat Rodohan (Lib Dem) in Upperton, Beryl Healy (Lib Dem) in Devonshire, David Tutt (Lib Dem) in St Anthony’s and Jon Harris (Lib Dem) in Langney.

A full list of candidates has not yet been released by the main political parties but Liberal Democrat stalwart Beryl Healy will not be seeking re-election in the Devonshire ward which she has represented for a number of years.

The county council is based in Lewes and currently controlled by the Conservatives with 29 councillors. The Liberal Democrats have 13 councillors, Labour just four and there are also three independent councillors.

People wishing to stand as candidates need to submit their paperwork from March 27 to noon on Friday April 5.

Residents have to register to vote by noon on April 17.