NOSTALGIA: Do you remember these squads?

Bexhill Town FC back in the 1965 season
Bexhill Town FC back in the 1965 season

I have been reading the article from last year regarding the passing of Don Pellett, the ex-manager of Bexhill Town FC in the 1960s and it reminded me that I have a picture of the team he put together for the start of season 1964-5.

I also have a picture of the Bexhill Boys Grammar School cup winning U13 team from 1960 which might ring a bell with some older readers.

The Bexhill Boys Grammar School cup winners

The Bexhill Boys Grammar School cup winners

The first picture is of Bexhill Town team in 1965 prior to the home match versus Lancing which was sadly a 2-1 defeat and was in the early days of the late great man Don Pellett’s reign as manager.

He had put together this team of players mostly from Eastbourne and Hastings, the exceptions being his younger brother Pete who died very shortly after Don) and myself from Hooe FC in my debut match.

His main aim was to retain the clubs’ position in the County League Division 1 as it was then. He did this and the rest is history. You have already covered this in your paper’s obituary to Don last year and I believe there were six players from this team who helped win the league in 1965/6 season.

The team, left to right, back are Brian Brazier, Brian Crawford, ‘Dick’ Morgan, Phil Wren, Robin Billen and Nelson Cunnington; front row Dickie Thomson, Mick Sharp, Bob Wilson, Gerry Crouch and Peter Pellett.

The second photo is of what was the Bexhill Grammar School Under 13 squad who won the Hastings Schools cup in 1960.

In those days the Grammar School drew pupils from a wide area including Pevensey, Hailsham, Etchingham, Battle and other villages nearby like Catsfield, Ninfield and Hooe. Tragically one member of the team, Vic Bettney, died while still a pupil but several of the players became ‘rivals’ after they left school and played for their local teams.

The back row left to right in the second photo is Peter Hill, Mick Hayward, Paul Hurst, Mick Baldock, Colin Pont, John Liddle and Mick Davey. Front row left to right is Craven Routledge, Vic Bettney, Mick Sharp, Charlie Akhurst, Nigel Coulthurst, Terry Goff and Neil Stapley.

Mick Sharp,

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make our website your homepage at

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @Eastbournenews

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!

The Eastbourne Herald - always the first with your local news.

Be part of it.