Art competition for Glyndebourne

Have your say

Glyndebourne has launched an international art competition inviting young artists to design the cover of its 2016 Tour Programme.

The winning artist will see their artwork across 10,000 copies of the Glyndebourne Tour Programme and be exhibited at Glyndebourne this autumn.

Glyndebourne is inviting visual artists aged between 16-30 to submit artwork inspired by Madama Butterfly, one of three productions that will tour the country from October to December. Madama Butterfly is currently the 6th most performed opera in the world and will make its debut on Glyndebourne’s Tour 2016.

The Glyndebourne Tour Programme is the sister publication of the Glyndebourne Festival Programme, a collector’s item well-known for its contemporary front covers. Recent cover artists include Julian Opie, Grayson Perry and Anish Kapoor.

Since the advent of the Tour in 1968, Glyndebourne has sought to broaden the reach of opera, bringing the art form to new audiences every autumn as it takes three productions on the road. Now in its fourth year, the Glyndebourne Tour Art Competition acts as an opportunity to champion young artistic talent of a different kind. The competition offers a platform for emerging artists to raise their profile internationally, and a chance to see their art displayed at Glyndebourne.

Artists are invited to submit paintings, drawings, original prints, mixed media, photography and digital pieces for the competition (no video or sculpture). Pieces must work on two levels – as printed artwork on the programme front cover and as an exhibition piece.

The closing date is July 1. The winning artist will be announced shortly afterwards following the decision of a specially convened panel of judges. Submitted artwork must be original work designed exclusively for Glyndebourne’s 2016 Tour Art Competition. Entrants must also agree to the full list of terms and conditions. To enter visit

The tour from October 14 - December 8 begins at Glyndebourne before visiting Woking, Canterbury, Norwich, Milton Keynes and Plymouth.