Willingdon CC dish out the awards

Have your say

IF a week is a long time in politics, then a season is an eternity in cricket.

A year ago, members of Willingdon Cricket Club were celebrating the promotion of all three teams, but at last Saturday’s annual dinner and prize presentations, it was a completely different picture.

This time, members were drowning their sorrows as they reflected on the relegation of both first and second elevens from the first and fifth divisions of the East Sussex League with only the thirds (division 11) keeping the flag flying as they narrowly missed out on another promotion.

But addressing the company at Willingdon Golf Club, chairman Dick Holste said that the results did not show the whole picture.

“When you lose five regular members of the firsts it is bound to impact on the results even though the youngsters who moved up tried their hardest. But they could not make up for the great loss of experience although it was a valuable learning curve,” he explained.

The chairman said it was a vital time to raise funds as the local council were considering a new pavilion for the club.

Award winners: Chairman’s award (outstanding work for the club): Merv Yates; Robin Hanley award (performance of the season); T. Mpandawanda; 1st XI award, Duncan Ford; 2nd XI award, Richard Cocknell; 3rd XI award, Will Hatfield; most improved player, George Pantry; batting award, Mark Shimmonds; bowling award, Will Hatfield; fielding cup, Matt Bremer; catching cup, Danny Craven; John Thompson trophy (best all-rounder), Richard Cocknell; Mike Cragg trophy (champagne moment), Danny Craven.