Runaway leaders Railway crush Dolphin’s promotion hopes

The runaway Eastbourne & District Snooker League division three leaders Railway crushed any hopes of Dolphin F winning promotion into division two next season with a 4-1 victory.

Gavin Wright, Gary Moseley (27 break), Paul Goacher (29 break) and Richard Edwards posted the winning frames for the champions. Paul Rogers stopped the whitewash with a 47-18 win over Mark Humphries.

Promoted Hailsham MI B chalked up a convincing 4-1 home victory against Police. Barry and Neal Kent, Clive Kidman and Hugh Galt secured the points. Steve Stenhouse lost out against Charlie Anastasi on the black 51-46. Charlie pocketed a 25 break in the process for the solitary Police win.

Eastbourne Con Club, who are seeking the final automatic promotion spot, recorded a 3-2 away win at the Polegate Legion club against X.R.E.A.

X.R.E.A. went two frames up through Phil and Collin Fry but Bud House, Kevin Feakins and the match winning frame from Phil Carter over X.R.E.A. captain Liam Brooks 44-34 won it for the Con Club.

Transport moved into fourth place following a 4-1 home win against Hailsham Club B. The busboys’ wins came via the cues of Norman Rae, Alan Wickens, Ray Swatridge and Dave Taylor. Derek Holt pulled off a surprise win against Rob Bennett 54-39 to claim the solitary Hailsham Club B victory.

Mid-table Glastonbury E overcame Hailsham Club C at the Glastonbury Club by a 3-2 margin. The visitors won the opening two frames via Stella Bonnick and Aled Evans only for Damien Mills, Jody Mills and Jose Martins to pocket the match for Glastonbury E.

The two bottom teams in division three, Hailsham MI F and Fishermen’s C, met at the HMI Club with the visitors running out 3-2 winners.

Nuthouse A still hold top spot in division two following a 4-1 home win over Hailsham MI E.

Ian Townsend, Glen Williams, Martin Noakes and Marcel Compton hit the winning frames for the leaders. Alan Hooker overcame Matt Walter 55-31 to record the sole HMI E win.

This result keeps Nuthouse one point in front of second-placed Glastonbury A, who also recorded a 4-1 home victory against a Fishermen’s Club F side which has been relegated into division three for next season.

Matt Smith, Tokki Yamaguchi, Paul Croft and Grant Martins secured the Glastonbury A winning frames.

Dave Smith outpointed Eastbourne & District Snooker League secretary Richard Barnicoat 57-24 for the only Fish F win.

Fishermen’s Club E, who are seeking the final automatic promotion place, did their cause no harm with a 3-2 home win over mid-table Devonshire Club.

Mike Neilan, John Satterwaite, and a final frame win by Colin Bray over Tim Stirmey 55-29 did the damage for Fishermen’s Club. Barrie Finch and Ron Jackson replied for the Devonshire Club.