Athletes honoured at Rovers’ awards night

Shot putter and hammer thrower Angela Morgan
Shot putter and hammer thrower Angela Morgan

Eastbourne Rovers Athletic Club held their annual presentation evening at the Afton Hotel to celebrate the performances from the last winter-summer season.

The Junior best performance cups went to Charlotte Tester for putting the shot over 7m and Jonny White and Jake Alger shared the boys cup for performances in the 400m ( 52.3 ) and 1500m ( 4m19.23 )

The senior awards were collected by Angela Morgan for her throws of Hammer (32,83) and shot putt (8.54) and Allan Dawson for his 100m in 11.2secs.

Great improvements were made in the sprints this year with Maddie Mann knocking .4 off her 60m time recording 8.2 secs, and George Marsh a massive .5 in the 100m to run 11.3., so each received the ‘Most Improved’ cups.

Jake Algar competed well in the Cross Country events in the winter so went home with the Junior Cross Country award. The senior awards going to Staurt Pelling and Emily Jones, who have both come from a track background of sprinting to now enjoy competing on rougher muddy terrain!

The multi event awards show good strength in running, jumping and throwing and these went to the following in their respective age groups, U11 – Harry Hughes and Rhianon Handley, U15 – Adam Hutchings and Alice Fenton, Sen – Brian Slaughter and Di Farmer.

One of the most prestigious awards is the Carol Russell trophy which is given to athletes who are dedicated to their training and support all the club matches, always willing to try out new events and score points for the team – this went to Matt Harrison and Iuean Handley.

Graham Weir’s involvement with the club has grown from just coming along as a parent and helping to officiate to this year when he has been instrumental in the club improving their website, starting up a parents running section and has taken on the post of treasurer. To show acknowledgement of this he was awarded the Jim Lindsay Bowl.

Other awards are given to athletes who compete regularly and gain the most points for the club these went to , Brian Slaughter, Di Farmer, Isaac Francis, Rachel Viner-Waite, Charlotte Tester, Heidi Burgess and Adam Hutchings.