Calls for six former councillors to be made honorary aldermen

CALLS are to be made for six former members of Eastbourne Borough Council to become Honorary Aldermen.

The accolade is awarded to people who have given exemplary service to Eastbourne.

Among those included on the roll of honour are international tennis star Martina Navratilova and war hero Joe Townsend – as well as former councillors.

Next Wednesday, councillor Colin Belsey, who sits on both Eastbourne and East Sussex councils, will lead a call for four Conservative and two Liberal Democrat former councillors to be given the title.

They are Conservatives David Stevens, Graham Marsden, Ann Murray and Barbara Goodall and Liberal Democrats Mary Pooley and Olive Woodall.

Councillor Belsey said he wanted to see former colleagues honoured and would be calling on all political parties at Wednesday night’s meeting of the council to support him.

He added, “The council should confer the title of Honorary Aldermen upon these former councillors in recognition of the eminent service they have given as past members of Eastbourne Borough Council.”